The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the Memo the vice president of food distribution company has suggest to return to their former company Buzzoff for control service. He comes to this conclusion based on several data including amount of money lost on the food control. The author contention might prove true. However, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence to bolster the assertions credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that last month was not an anomaly, but this might not be true. It is possible that last month loss of 20000 dollar was an exception from their service. There may be a flood in last month which inundated the food storage and which destroyed the product not the pest. It is also possible due to the strike of people, the roads were blocked and it did not allowed sufficient amount of food to leave the storage and rotten this food. If either of the scenarios are true, then the author's assertion is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the author presumes that the two city are roughly similar but this might not be true. It is possible that Palm city is in underdeveloped region where load shedding is frequent. Due to this frequent load shedding, the pest control was not effective. It is also possible that there are two different types of pest is introduced in two city and one company is not expert in controlling the pest in another region. If this is true, then the author suggestion doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that the company Buzzof is able to control the damage but this might not be true. It is possible that the pest which destroyed the food is a new type of pests , in which buzzof has doesn't have any expertise. Then they are less likely to control the pest. It is also possible that company buzzof lack manpower (worker) in dealling with this problem. If they lack the workers who deals with this problem, then it less likely that they would make the deal. If they did not make the deal, then it is not possible to shift to them for solutions. If the above mentioned scenarios have credibility then the author's contention is weakened.

Finally the author may be correct in giving recommendation about returning to their previous company. However, the author contention is depended on three unwarranted assumption which significantly weakens it's credibility. If the author is able to provide answer to this question it will increase the persuasiveness of his recommendations.