The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument claims that Zeta corporation, rather than Alpha company, should be employed for the new building project because of the lower costs associated to the existent headquarters which have been built by Zeta. However, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the conclusion can be evaluated. Additionally, it manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation, thus the argument is weak and unconvincing.

The argument readily assumes that the lower maintenance cost of the previous year of the headquarter built by Zeta is one of the reasons why the new building project should be carried out not by Alpha corporation. However, some questions need to be answered in order to properly evaluate the situation. Are lower maintenance costs associated due to the fact that the headquarter has been built by Zeta? Or simply because less people use the building compared to the one constructed by Alpha? Indeed, the reason makes sense only if the lower maintenance costs are due to the better quality of the building constructed by Zeta. Moreover: had the maintenance costs been lower in the headquarters built by Zeta also in all the previous years? If the lower costs are only a sporadic event associated with last year, then the conclusion is even more unconvincing. Therefore, the argument would have been clearer if it has mentioned whether lower maintenance costs are directly due to better quality of the building constructed by Zeta corporation and whether the lower costs are a temporary or a permanent trend.

Additionally, the argument mentions as a supporting factor for the conclusion the lower energy consumption costs of the headquarters built by Zeta. Nonetheless, it fails to mention, again, whether the reduced costs are due to the quality of the components used by Zeta and not simply because less people work in that building. Indeed, the lower energy costs could be due to the fact that where the headquarters built by Zeta the weather is usually warmer compared to where the other one is located. Thus, less energy is needed. Furthermore, the vice president mentions the stable workforce of Zeta as a supporting factor for choosing it for the new building project. Why is there a more stable workforce and less turnover? Maybe it could be the type of contract that employees sign that force them to work for a long time for Zeta. In conclusion, the vice president neglect two key factors in his decision: the lower building cost associated with Alpha and its lower bid.

To conclude, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. In order to assess the vice president’s decision, it would have been needed to know the above-mentioned evidences. Hence, the argument is flaw and still open to debate.