The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

According to the memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station in order to reverse a decline in listener numbers, they should change to a news and talk format from their current rock-music format. Despite the population growth, the decline in rock-music has occurred. The argument seems to be reasonable at first glance but with an accurate look, we can see that it has some weaknesses that should be taken into account.

Firstly, the manager has said that “To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents.” the manager believes that one of the reasons for the decline in rock- music is the increasing number of retired people who are not a fan of rock music. He did not provide any evidence which could prove this argument. Have not all retired people been a fan of rock music? Are retired people the only reason for the decline? Has not the quality of rock music changed? One of the main reasons for decreasing in listener numbers may be the low quality in the rock music format. Also, the manager believes that they should make listeners of new residents namely retired people. This is acceptable as a part of their customer attraction but whether other listeners should be left. He did not mention what they want to do to increase their current listeners’ satisfaction. He only said that for the attraction of new residents (newly retired residents) they could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes. If the number of retired people who are not a fan of rock music is more than other listeners, their recommendation can be useful. But there is no evidence about this argument.

Secondly, the manager has said that “a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead, we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.” There no statistical evidence about this argument. The manager has failed to provide a reliable figure to prove this argument. The decline in local sales could be a result of people ‘s interest in some gadgets such as iPad, mobile and tablets. All these gadgets provide an online store for listening to rock music. Another question is how the manager knows that news and talk format is popular in his area. He again has not provided any evidence in order to strengthen his argument.

In conclusion, the manager has to answer all the questions mentioned above in order to reinforce his argument. He should also have more research on this subject.