The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and their profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the above statement, the author asserts that since people responded to a survey that they do not desire consuming high fat and high cholesterol foods, the Old Dairy Industries, which sells those kinds of products, will lose sales and other new investors as well. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the respondents to the survery recently being done can be the representative of the residents near Old Dairy Industies. However, this may not be the case. The people responding the survey could have shared similar characteristics, such as being obesed. Then, they will desire to eat less high fat, cholesterol foods. In addition, the author shows 80% as a high ratio of the respondents and so can be very well admitted by the investors. However, the respondents as itself could be very small in number. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the spectrum of the respondents' weight and the number of the respondents are needed to support the claim and assert it.

Secondly, the assumption that the respondents' desire will lead to real action is not conclusively proven. Even though the respondents are not obesed and very well distributed over the weight, they responded that they have a desire. People all have desire for their objectives. We desire to live healthy or wealthy. However, we often make mistakes as eating what we want to eat such as fast foods, after deliberating over what to eat. Or, we tend to splurge on goods that we suddenly want to buy. These actions lead us into the other way of what we have desired. As such, more detailed data needs to be considered whether the desire will actually lead to the real action.

Lastly, the residents near Old Dairy Industries, who are the main customers of the Old Dairy Industries, also want to evade high fat, cholestrol food is not plausible without corroborating evidence. They could actually like high fat foods. The respondents of the survey are not said to be the residents near the Industries. In addition, the customers for whom the Old Dairy Industires have should be warranted in order to conclude the author's claim. The actual customer who all share unique taste, might have high desire for foods with high fat and cholestrol. Therefore, it is necessary to consider evidence about whether whom the customer for the Old Dairy Industries is.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence, pertaining to the representativeness of the respondents, the gap between desire and action, and the customers for Old Dairy Industries is crucial in determining the validity of the author's claim.