The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The decrease of sales of the Old Diary Industries can be probable. However, the author of the statement fails to give a strong argument supporting the inevitable plummet of the Old diary’s incomes. The argument is replete with unclear points and thus it is too weak to buttress the conclusion. There are several vital questions whose answers are needed to illustrate the argument.

First, the author needs to ask how much the people in the survey can be representative of the costumers in the marketing domain of the Old Dairy company. It is possible that customers of the Old Diary have other inclinations toward having foods and prefer fats in their meals. Even if the survey conforms to the of Old Diary’s customers, there would be 20 percent of people who can still be the loyal customers of the Old Diary, the author needs to ask whether such 20 percent includes a significant number of people. The 20 percent might consist of millions of people with whom the company can still thrive.

Secondly, even people sense a desire not to intake high-fat foods, the author needs to ask whether people decidedly are intended to meet such a desire. Despite knowing that high fat foods are not good for their health, people may still consume them. Because of their taste, the foods may be quite tempting that customers forget what they have said in the survey; the high fat products might be an ambrosia for the customers that cannot readily say no to eating them. If this is the case, the economic failure of the company is a far-fetched scenario.

Thirdly, we are informed that many of the Old Diary are high in fat, so not all of them are high fat. Therefore, the author needs to ask that whether the other low-fat product can stand a good stead for the company. The other products might sell so great which covers the lack of sufficient sales of the high fat products. If this is the case, the company is not heading toward a bankruptcy, as the author assumes otherwise.

Finally, even if the whole answers to the previous questions lend credence to the author’s conclusion, still the author needs to ask is it the best advice for the stockholders of the company to sell their stocks and advise others not to buy the stocks? If investors observe this advice the company would become bankrupt, as no one would buy the stocks, and many might lose their jobs. A better alternative advice might be to shift more to produce low fat products instead of selling their shares.

In short, as discussed, the author should provide answers to the enumerated questions. Without answering to such vital questions the conclusion which is based on the ambiguous argument cannot be tenable.