The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the evidence offered to argue the main claims of the argument are not as cogent as they appear. Concluding businesses should only hire people who need less than six hours of sleep per night based on a superficially explained study and ignoring other aspects of the lifestyle of the executives is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide the evidence to support the study referred to in the article. The author mentions 300 males and females were rated on the hours of sleep they obtained per night, but it is not mentioned how many individuals out of the sample size got no more than 6 hours of sleep every night. It may be that only 30 executives that were rated, sleep about 6 hours per night, this would mean 10% of the sample population sleeps 6 hours a night. If this were the case, then 10% is not a significant enough number to conclude there is an association between the average hours of sleep every night and the success of their firms, rendering the study unreliable. Moreover, the article does not discuss how this association was shown and how this data was computed. It could be that these executives were a part of a self-reporting survey. In self-reporting studies, individuals tend to be untruthful or not completely fixed on any answer. There is no method to measure the authenticity of the answers given. Using these kinds of surveys would weaken the argument even more. On the other hand, if the author presented statistics that showed 200 people out of 300 were only sleeping 6 hours per night, the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, the author still does not mention the methods taken to conduct the study.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine there is a credible method that illustrates that most successful executives were only sleeping for 6 hours, it is still baseless to conclude the fact that these people are sleeping 6 hours is the sole reason for their success. So, the author continues to speculate other factors are not playing a role in the succession of certain firms. For example, the leaders that slept 6 hours per night could also be spending 10-12 hours per day in the office with staff. Since they are devoting extra time to their work lives, they could also be accomplishing more in their long days. This distinction could be a reason that is demonstrating the perceived positive outcomes, which would further undermine the conclusion of the argument. However, if new information comes to light describing that all executives are working the same number of hours, the argument would hold more validity. But even so, it is difficult to account for all differing factors, so other aspects can be overlooked.

Lastly, the argument is built upon foundationless assumptions. For one, the author states out of those interviewed, successful executives reported on getting no more than 6 hours of sleep every night. But the author then continues to say that for firms to succeed, their leaders should get less than 6 hours. Stating the association of success of the firm with no more than 6 hours of sleep is not the same as getting less than 6 hours of sleep per night. The many undescriptive statements in the argument weaken it further.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to prove the succession of certain firms is due to their executives getting less than 6 hours of sleep per night.