The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 per cent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the business plan proposed by the manager of Rialto Movie Theatre, the author concludes that the Rialto Movie Theatre has to either encounter major changes or close the theatre. The author compares the Rialto Movie Theatre with the recently opened Apex movie theatre. However, the author has made some assumption that if not substantiated will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author claims that Apex theatre has featured facilities like video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, a proper sound system that trending that has to be included in the Rialto Movie Theatre as well. However there is no proof that after including these things there is a good number of people that are preferring to go to Apex theatre. First, there is no evidence to say that including these things in renovation can attract more people. Second, It might be a business plan followed by Apex theatre to attract more people because it is lying on the outskirts. And Rialto theatre may not need such unwanted attractions if it is in the downtown location. If either of the case is true, then the author claims in include the sound system, plush carpeting and seats, etc. are not warranted and his suggestion may be considered as not overly persuasive.

Second of all, the author presumes that, 85 per cent of the people already confirmed that due to increase in the ticket prices they would reduce to prefer to go the movies and they may not go not more than five times. However, there is a possibility that the people who participated in the survey might have low income holders, old age and high working people and their preferences are chosen to decide that 85 percent might not frequently visit the theatre. There is another possibility that movie enthusisast weren’t surveyed about the same. If either of these scenario holds true, the the author’s contention to renovate Rialto Theatre does not hold water.

Finally, even if it true that there will be in a decrease in the number of movie goers, there no evidence to prove that renovating Rialto Theatre will attract more people despite of decrease in the number of audience. It is likely that people who like the atmosphere of Apex threats would prefer to go that even if the Rialto Theatre is remade. Although remake of the Rialto Theatre might be a good idea, following the ideas that were included in Apex theatre may not be the best possible business plan because Apex theatre has it own infrastructure and architectural plans that were used based on the trends of last year. There is a possibility that the trends have been change and following the apex trees as it is might not be a best possible idea.

In conclusion, it is possible that the business plan suggested by the author might bring back the glory that Rialto Theatre had. However, as it stands now, the argument relies three unfounded assumption that renders the coacultion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author must add additional evidence that must support his arguments and recommend that the changes that should be preferred by Rialto Theatre should be similar to that of Apex theatre.