The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce."Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined wit

At first glance, the Amburg's Chamber of Commerce president presents a logical argument in favor of increased lighting in the city to combat crime and revitalize declining neighborhoods. Upon closer inspection, there are several glaring holes in his argument due to a lack of supporting evidence for his auxiliary claims. In order to make a sound decision about lighting in Amburg, city officials require additional evidence to confirm or deny the president's conclusions.

The first piece of evidence that would be useful to make an informed decision is data indicating that the decline in vandalism in Belleville can actually be attributed to their new high-intensity lighting. There are many potential factors that could have led to this reduction in crime, and it is unclear if Belleville took any additional measures to prevent such crimes. For example, it is possible that the increase in lighting was coupled with an increased police presence in the district. It would also be very helpful to have access to overall change in vandalism throughout the city; it is possible that the new lighting deterred vandals in that district, but simply redirected their efforts to easier targets throughout the city. If the entire city is equally illuminated, it is unclear that the vandals will cease their activity without knowledge about this overall vandalism rate.

Furthermore, the president needs to provide evidence that increased lighting is the most efficient use of resources to stop crimes such as vandalism. If police officers are patrolling the area by bicycle, it is highly likely that they are only present during daylight hours, while vandalism often occurs at night. It might be more beneficial to increase police presence in the area at all hours. Similarly, no data are presented regarding the overall crime rate in the business district. While the police are ineffective in reducing the vandalism rate in that region, they might have had a positive impact on the occurrence of other criminal activities.

Finally, in order to evaluate the president's claims, it is necessary to have evidence that increased lighting would reduce the overall crime rate in the city, and that such crimes are the root cause of declining neighborhoods in Amburg. Even if convincing evidence is provided to support increased lighting is an effective way to stop vandalism, additional data are required to indicate that increased lighting would reduce the overall crime rate. Figures about the current overall crime rate in Amburg would also be beneficial in evaluating the given argument. It is unclear what the president means by a "declining neighborhood," and without concrete evidence indicating rampant criminal activity, it is possible that these areas are simply perceived badly because they are inhabited by people with little financial wealth because of economic factors.

The president's argument is reasonably well presented, but lacks concrete evidence needed to make an informed decision about different avenues to prevent crime in Amburg and reinvigorate rundown neighborhoods. Without further study, the city would not be justified in spending taxpayer dollars on additional lighting sources.