The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The rampant growth of computers and programming in an unrestrained and untrammelled way has lead to a technological boon for every business man and entrepreneur. The number of ways human beings are dependent on computer is of sheer astonishment. Being a good and proficient progrmmer has become a cardinal part of every job description and therefore, the decision taken by the school is in the right direction with good intentions.

The way computers have engulfed peoples lives right from children learning through apps on their tablets, teenagers indulging in online gaming, graduates learning from online courses and employees working on computers for their livelihood. Everyone has become tech savy. This is really beneficial for all generations of people.

The schools decision is based on facts and is very likely to be proved true. Every engineering domain has a relation with computer programming. The relation may not have become very firm but with technology advancing at rapid rates it is better to be future ready with jobs of the future. This age of internet and millenials consuming abundant amounts of data everyday, the job of a data scientist comes handy, to use that excess data for a good use and serve a better purpose.

Industries are surely becoming more technological but to enforce programming on students for four years to get jobs is certainly disheartening as it snubs the students wish to study, subjects of thier interest. Learning a subject with interest makes a person appreciate the subject while learning a subject just for the selfish reason of a job can never make a person truly happy and excited for that subject. Learning should neer be tantamounted to job salaries and prospects as it deprives the subject of its respect and richness.

Therefore, programming should be given as an elective subject to help cater to the students who are interested in developing the facets of programming while at the same time not dimish any student from exploring myriad number of subjects from other domain. Encouraging a student to pursue what he/she likes helps them gain confidence and live much more freely without any stress.