The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of this argument lacks to sufficiently justify his/her stance on numerous occasions. Firstly, the parent talks about his son and several of his friends regarding the students not enjoying their low calorie, low-fat meals. The term several is defined according to the understanding of the author, hence the author needs to provide more evidence to surmise the notion for a wide range of children. Secondly, the goal of shifting to Swift Nutrition was making kids eat healthy food which is being fulfilled by the vendor for some population in school. Thirdly, the author fails to justify that his/her son and his/her son's friends eat healthy food at home or on any other occasion which implies changing the vendor will have little impact.

The author's son and his friends may not enjoy food served by Swift Nutrition because on a general basis they do not eat such food, as these children don't have the habit they would require some time to adjust to the new habits of eating healthy. Making a claim for the wide population such as a large portion of the student population at school requires significant evidence, which the author fails to provide. Hence, the author's stance for the replacement of Swift Nutrition is flawed.

A trade off between healthy and enjoyable always exist when we talk about food. But the author also fails to define enjoyable, enjoyable could very well imply that the food although do not tastes bad, it just doesn't taste great as less healthier foods and if that is the case then the author conclusion is weakened. The primary goal of eating healthy is being fullfilled by good tasty foods. The author need to provide clarity in defining the term enjoyable in order to strengthen his/her postion. Further, although if we assume the deduction stated are true according to the author, replacing vendor could still tilt on any side, there is perhaps a high chance that the author's son and his several friends may not like the healthy food served by the other vendor. Hence, the conclusion of the argument anyhow is unwarranted unless additional context regaridng the eatinghabits of the author's son and his several friends is provided.

The author as faisl to justify numeorus of his/her deduction, the argument as wellas the conclusion is lekely to fall apart.