The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake

House restaurants.

Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout

the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal

complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change.

Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do

not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot

distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or

margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should

extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants concludes that the Happy Pancake House should extend the strategy of replacing butter with margarine throughout the rest of the United States. To support this conclusion, the manager argues that only 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint and that a number of servers have reported that several customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. However, neither of these reasons stated in the memorandum provides sufficient support for the conclusion.

The first issue to be addressed is the manager concludes that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change since only 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint. However, this conclusion is flawed because it falsely assumes that those people who do not file the complaint are delighted with this change. In this case, three possible groups of people could be put forth here: people who are happy about the change, people who are neutral about the change, and people who dislike the change but do not file the complaint. To strengthen his/her argument, the manager would benefit from providing more detailed information such as they do receive positive feedback from those customers who don't file formal complaints.

Additionally, the manager implies that their customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine because they do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Admittedly, there are some among these customers who don't understand the difference between either item. Nonetheless, some might just be indifferent between the two alternatives. Moreover, the feedback is reported by the local servers, who could concoct the results just to delight their manager.

The manager also assumes that the condition throughout the rest of the country is similar to the case in the southeastern United States. Even though all of the previous claims are substantiated, extending the plan throughout the country is still a precarious move. The success in the southeastern United States may just be an abnormity, we can not ensure people elsewhere will also appreciate the change. This assumption could be strengthened if the manager conducts an exhaustive survey throughout the country before making the move.

As shown, this argument engages in three major assumptions, but neither of the assumptions is tenable enough to prop the argument up. To consummate the argument, the manager must provide complete feedback collected from customers, even from those who do not live in the southwestern United States.