The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given argument, author has put his thoughts about the change in customers complain, by replacing the butter with margarine, however it sounds good but author might miss some facts related with customer’s behaviour which can have a direct impact on the business and also customers may not like it. Now let’s see which areas author missed here to put his thoughts on.

It is describing that, ‘Recently’, butter replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurant about the south western United States. But how recently this happened is not mentioned in the argument. There can be the possibility that people who live in south western prefer margarine over butter because it is healthier and fat free. Also, we all know modern types of margarine are made from vegetable oils, which contains polyunsaturated fats that can lower the ‘Bad’ cholesterol when used instead of saturated fat. for example (Butter). Whereas, the possibility that customers of author’s restaurant are not so health conscious can’t be denied.

Later, author concludes that because only 2 percent of customers have complained, all other 98 percent are happy with the change. However, Not complaining about something, doesn’t guarantee you the satisfaction for the same. There are many other possibilities like customers might be happy with the ambience of restaurant, they find it quite peaceful place to have their meal which directly diverts their mindset and prevents them from complaining about mere issues like butter and margarine.

Further it is given that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. As we mentioned above the customer usually tend to behave like matured ones and that’s why they are not complaining with the service.

Hence, we can say that the author is reaching to an uninformed conclusion that the customers are unable to distinguish between Butter and Margarine, ignoring the possibilities mentioned above. The fact that the customers are noticing the change but keeping from addressing it to the manager can’t be denied. Therefore, the Business Manager needs to take a genuine survey from the customers and reach a conclusion.