The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that replacing butter with margarine has less impact on customers. He comes to this conclusion based on several unjustified assumptions. The writer's assertion might be true but following three explanations must be substantiateed inorder to evaluate the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the survey conducted may not be scientific. Perhaps, it might be done by neophytes who may not have properly conducted the survey. The research might be conducted among child for whom flavour does not matter so much. Also it is said that 2 percent of people have complained which may indicate a larger number of people in a place with higher population. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, the author assumes that many servers indicated in the argument also contribute as major distributors of pancake. It might be possible that majority of the pancakes in the states were served by a few number of established resturants. These hotels despite being large in number, have less costumers and are of small scale. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, it is assumed that consumers donot identify butter or give both margarine and butter a common name. It is possible that even though the buyers can distinguish between these two; they do not complain, instead wane the habit of having pancakes with butter. Moreover these consumers may have liked the taste of margarine than that of butter any have not shown any reaction rearding the shift from butter. If this is the case, then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarraanted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three claims (based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be determined.