The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that it is okay to change from butter to margarine since little complaints have been made about the change. Such claim may seem plausible however the passage is rife with holes and assumptions. It requires more information, needs clarification, and should eliminate the mistake of oversimplification for the author's memorandum to be justified.

First of all, after the reading memorandum, one might think that the reason there were little complaints about the change lacks of justifiable evidence. Those who were unsatisfied with the change of the taste simply might not have come anymore instead of visiting the restaurant again to complain about it. Furthermore, the pool of customers might have changed from those who preferred butter over margarine to those who favored margarine instead of butter. This might be the reason why 98 out of 100 customers were satisfied with the change. Or else, even though the customers did distinguish the change of taste, they might not have complained about it to not make a scene.

In addition, some might question that the reason the restaurant replaced butter to margarine could be due to a special occasion. The restaurant could have designed a menu that is specifically suited for margarines instead of butter. If this was the case, not many customers would have complained about the change because the replacement is plausible and could be justified. Some might even argue that the cost of the menu might have been lowered. Even if the quality of the taste was undercut, if the cost of the menu declined, not a lot of customers would have been unsatisfied with the change. They would simply think that the taste is reasonable because the it costs less than before.

In conclusion, even though the author's memorandum might seem plausible, through shrewd investigation and considering various factors in the passage, it does not stand a chance to be justified. The author should be more clear, needs to provide the readers more reasonable information, and needs to be cautious of making mistakes such as oversimplification.