The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants claims that customers must not distinguish the difference between butter and margarine or are satisfied with the change because there were only few complaints after the alteration had been made, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions, which need to be eliminated in order for the business manager to uphold his/her assertion with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author assumes that because there were only 2 percent of customers who complained, all the other customers must be satisfied with the change. However, this is clearly a wrong assumption. There may be customers who simply did not bother to complain thinking it is such a hassle, even though they were unsatisfied with the change of taste. Or maybe since the alteration had been made for such a short amount of time, people who favored margarine over butter were the only customers who had visited the store since then. If this is the case, then the data collected is not enough to be representative for all the customers. There is also a possibility that even though the visitors were unsatisfied with the ramification, they decided to give the restaurants another chance, believing that the cook must have made a mistake by getting confound with butter and margarine.

Furthermore, the author mentions that a number of customers did not complain when margarine was served instead of butter. He/she would have to clarify the numerical amount of customers that were given the wrong ingredient. If only two to three customers were served the wrong ingredient among hundreds of customers, then the amount would be negligible enough. Maybe the customers who were served margarine had a timid characteristic and did not like to complain out in the public. They might have written a note about being unsatisfied with the alteration and secretly hid it under the bill for the server to find it after they were long gone. If this is the case, then it does not always indicate that the customers must not acknowledge the difference between butter and margarine.

Last but not least, maybe the alteration had been made only to certain menus where margarine is much more germane than butter. This would have had the customers be satisfied with the ramification and led to no complaints, which does not indicate that they did not realize the change. The business manager would have to be more lucid on whether the change had been made to all the menus or had been made to certain menus where margarine was more acceptable.

To sum up, even though the business manager's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memorandum from various points of view, it is confirmed that his/her claim is unwarranted. In order for the author to maintain is claim, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of making wrong assumptions, lack of thorough investigation, and not providing substantial information.