The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Since the survey showing that there are 98 of people out of 100 are no complains about the changing butter by margarine, the author assumes that the customers are happy with this changing. Therefore, the author infers that after replacing butter by margarine, the profit of Happy Pancake House will increase dramatically. However, the dubious assumption make this conclusion unreasonable.

To begin with, the author relies on the survey to suggest that majority of customers are satisfy with the changes after Butter replaced by margarine. However, this survey cannot represent overall the customers, since customer might not say the true. For example, these 80 customers are no complains but stay neutral. As a result, 98 customers cannot represent that majority of customers are happy with this changes.

Furthermore, even assuming customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine is not the reason for no complains, the author falsely assumes that the use the term "butter" to refer to butter or margarine must attributed to no complains. This "either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine" is fallacious in that it ignore other possible cause of no complains. Perhaps customers do not want to represent their anger. Or perhaps customers do not care this changes. Without ruling out such possible causes, the author cannot justifiably assumes that customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or the term "butter" to indicate to either butter to margarine cause customers are not complains.

Even though customers are really no complains, the author's conclusion that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically is unwarranted. Profit is a factor relating to not only revenue but also costs. It is entirely possible that other costs associated with competition, customers flow decreasing will offset, even outweigh the revenue. Besides, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent Happy Pancake House being as profitable as the author predicts.

To sum up, this conclusion is unreasonable, since there are many dubious assumptions. the author must make known exactly how many customers that are anger of replacing butter by margarine. Secondly, the other possible factors that will cause no complains of customers must be considered. Finally, the possible factors that will undermine the predicts must be considered; Therefore, if author can complete these recommendation, this assumption will be more reasonable.