As the author assert, the television station has recently devoted more time to weather and local news and less time to national news, through the late-night news program. This change led to some complains about weather and local news, as well as some advertising cancelations by local businesses. the manager believes that restoring the news program to its previous form would solve these problems. while this argument is flawed based on some reasons which would be discussed in this essay.

First of all, the manager asserted that the complains involving weather and local news increased, but he/she did not mention that what are the complains exactly about. Are they completely against the broadcasting of this type of program? Or they are just suggesting some transformations about these news? Since if the second assumption is right, this means that the program has been successful in attracting its audiences, while the program is not perfectly implemented and has the potential to be enhanced.

Furthermore, the fact that the businesses canceled their advertising is apparently contraversial. As there was not any reports from the TV to show that the audiences decreased, or no research has been implied about the reductions in the consumers of the above mentioned local businesses. Therefore it seems that the businesses decision to cancel their advertising might not be based on a good reasoning.

Finally, restoring the circumstances to its previous level might not solve the problem, since the trust between TV station, audiences and the businesses is broken.

In conclusion, the most rational decision from my personal stand point, is to implement a research about the specific subject of the complaints made by audiences, as well as the change in sales and costumers of the local businesses, in order to find out the influences of the recent changes on this problems and making a better decision for the television's next move. While this might also be beneficial to review the reasons which the existing changes were made due to them.