The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

The business manager believed that in order to attract more audience and avoid losing possible advertising revenues, the television station should expand the range of weather and local news on all news programs based on the complaints about the coverage of weather and local news and the decline of numbers of local businesses willing to advertise. However, the assumptions made in the argument are unreliable and unreasonable. To examine the argument, we need more information to assess these assumptions.

According to the manager, most complaints received from viewers are about the coverage of weather and local news. Assuming that they complain about the limited range of these news, he think the station need to focus more on these news. However, there is a possibility that the number of complaints is quite small, and there is no need to change the content of programs because of the small number of complaints. Perhaps most audience are satisfied with current arrangement of the structure of news. In addition, maybe the complaints still focus on the relatively big range of weather and local news, so viewers wish to cut the time down. In that case, the argument is flawed and it may be wrong to increase these news.

Local businesses canceled their contacts with the television station recently, and the manager think that it is because the limited range of weather and local news. But maybe there is a new television program that is better than the current one, so many local businesses try to advertise during the new program. It is possible that the prices of advertising during the manager’s late-night news program have increased significantly in the last year so businesses decide not to continue their contacts. The assumption that the decrease is due to the content of news programs is not strong enough and we still need to collect more information to examine the assumption.

The manager also suggests that they should expand their coverage of weather and local news on all new programs. It is assumed that this behaviour is feasible and will result in more viewers and revenues. However, it might be impossible to add these news to all new programs. For example, it may be unreasonable to add weather news to sporting news. And the complaints received and decrease in revenues are about the late-night programs. Maybe most audience are satisfied with other kinds of programs, so it might be unreasonable and counterproductive to expend their coverage of these news on all new programs.

In conclusion, the argument is based on some unreliable assumptions and we still need to collect more information to examine these assumptions to assess the validity of the argument.