The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author makes a connection between reducing the amount of local news and weather coverage with the complaints received and canceling the advertisement contracts. However, the author doesn't pay attention to the number of complaints received or don't mention any evidence related to other possible reasons that might help cancel the contracts. By providing these evidences he/she mistakenly concludes that we should restore the news to its former level.

First, the author mentions that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station level of coverage. However, he/she fails to be punctilious in noticing the amounts of complaints. Perhaps our overall complaints reduced by 20% and in turn the former complaints about news coverage reduced as well. It's not fair to judge only by data we have now and conclude because we have no idea of what was going on before.

The author mentions the late night news itself and we don't provide any information about its viewers. It might be the other programs' viewer that complained about other coverage policies, we just don't know. Because most of the viewers that care more about local news especially weather precast don't watch the TV at late night. We don't know about the watching pattern of the local residents. By providing more detailed information we can see the whole picture of what's happening to our viewers.

Finally the original reason behind the canceling the contracts might be other things. For example, perhaps they increase the price for advertisement of maybe companies find another local network that works better for them. Without paying any attention to these possible scenarios we cannot conclude that with restoring the news coverage to its former level we can immediately attract the lost contracts.

To sum, based on the information presented in the argument and having no idea about the detail information about complaints and also the pattern of the hours that viewers spend in front of TVs, it's difficult to conclude that with restoring the former level we could re-attract the lost local businesses. However with providing more precise information we could have a better understanding of what should we decide.