The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument in question relates the loss of advertising revenues and complaints from the viewers to its recent preference to give more prime time to National news and lessen that of local news and weather telecasts. The business manager notes that ever since the national news usurped the time that local news and weather appeared in, viewers have been complaining on the station's coverage.

This argument lies on the assumption that the complaints recieved from the viewers are targeted towards the reduced time slot for weather and local news. The exact nature of complaints needs more evidence. There is a possibility that the viewers concerns towards the coverage on weather and local news is based on the quality of the local news and weather forecast that the channel broadcasts. If indeed true, then the argument can be refuted as most viewers are concerned of the quality of reporting rather than tha paucity of time given to it.

Also, the argument to associate loss in advertisement revenues and reduced time to weather and local news is not backed up by circumstantial evidences. What was the reason behind the local businesses canceling on adventisement contracts ? The advertisement companies are more concerned about the time slots that they get to advertise and not on what news is actually being telecast. The argument wrongly tries to relate the lost advertisement contracts to the local news.

As the change in the late-night schedule has been made over the past year, the statistics on the premises of the argument i.e. the complaints from viewers on the station's coverage and its advertising revenues of the time before a year also needs to be evaluated. If the advertising revenues of the previous year was better off than the latest figures or if the viewer compaints were far lesser i number during the times weather and local-news reigned the late-night shows, then we can gather conclusive evidence that the new findings may well be due to the mentioned argument, i.e. preference to national news. However if neither the viewers compaints nor the advertising withdrawals were lesser a year ago, it would seriously weaken the assumption that more coverage on national media as being the culpable scenario.

Also, we have to take into account the certainty of the new proposal in reversing the losses the television statement is incurring currently. In order to verify this more evidence is needed on the the constitution of the viewership, the scope of the station's coverage. The facts and figures of the time when local news was given prominence must be evaluated to strengthen the proposed plan.