The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of sidewalk rage similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The resul

The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Over a few years, there has been an increasing number of complaints of sidewalk rages in the city of Centerville--sidewalk rage is very similar to irrational anger drivers experience where the driver gets frustrated and throws a tantrum about slow-moving cars. To resolve this issue the author of the argument provides a tenet to pass an embargo on using cell phones while walking on the sidewalk.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons, primarily due to an assumption that the city of Centerville and Middletown are same, rendering its main conclusion that the number of complaints is going to decrease as a result of banning the usage of cell phones while walking. The author claims that there were no complaints of sidewalk crimes after passing an embargo on the usage of cell phones on sidewalks, but the argument fails to provide the data on the number of complaints reported before making usage cell phones reclusive on sidewalks.

Adding, the author fails to account the number of people who use the sidewalk. It is plausible that in Middletown there are very few pedestrians which makes the sidewalks secluded. The heretofore shows that banning cell phones never really affected the sidewalk rage, as there weren't any or very few in the first place.

The argument claims using phones slow down pedestrian traffic which may not be true, a person listening to songs would still move at the same pace as he would move if he were not listening to songs. There may also be a dire need to use the cell phone like attending an important phone call or using maps to navigate to the desired location.

By considering the aforementioned points we can consider that the argument is fallacious. Having said that the argument can be made more persuasive by incorporating the following suggestions: First, there should a clear number, of crimes reported after the ban and before the ban--which gives a picture if the ban was actually the reason for no sidewalk rages. Adding, a comparison of the number of people using the sidewalk in the City of Centerville and Middletown must be done.