The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

At first glance, the recommendation letter looks reasonable and convincing to support the idea that opening a café in Monarch Books is a good choice. However, there are still many logical problems existing and valid data needed.

To begin with, how do they know opening the café will attract more consumers? Did they design table or questionnaire and make an accurate analysis to get the above mentioned conclusion? In addition, the children’s book section will be removed so as to operate café. Nevertheless, what percentage of consumers buying children’s book for their kids accounts for the total consumers? Even though they don’t account a big portion, it’s likely that they would also bought books belong to other categories for themselves during their shopping? In this way, the bookstore not only loses the opportunity of making sales by children’s book but also magazines, novels and so on.

The recommendation also mentioned that the percentage of children under 10 years old declines recently from national census. Still, can that percentage of the whole nation represent that of this area? It’s likely that there are still many children in this area or city, so it’s not necessarily true to remove the children’s section only by using insufficient evidence.

On the other hand, the idea is partly motivated by its competitor, Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. Is there any evidence or statistics to support that starting up café can raise their sales revenue or attracting more consumers? If the assumption is true, it’s somehow no need for the company to change its policy. They can choose other programs or discount to get consumers back to the store again. What’s more, is it possible that many people staying at café chat will destroy the serenity of the whole bookstore? In this way, maybe some consumers frequently putting Monarch Books as their top of list won’t be reluctant to walk into it anymore.

Whether Monarch books should open its own café is still need carefully analyzing and relies on more valid and creditable information.