The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Monarch Books should open a café in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened a café. Monarch, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer following because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Opening the café would clearly attract more customers. The café would require relatively little space. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten."

The business manager recommends that for the purpose of attracting more customers and make more profits through the competition with a new cafe called Regal Books, a cafe should be opened in Monarch Books’ store. The manager reasons that because Monarch has had a good reputation in variety selection of books for years, the operation of the cafe will make it more popular. Apart from that, to support the recommendation the manager also indicates that children’s book section within little space, seemingly less popular area, would be superseded by the construction of the cafe. Citing the recent national census, the manager points out that the percentage of the group under age ten decline significantly. But the recommendation fails to be persuasive as the assumption upon which it is based do no link with the manager’s conclusion.

First of all, the manager provides absolutely no evidence that Monarch and Regal are comparable at every aspects. Even assuming that Monarch’s operation of cafeteria could be compared with Regal ’s, the recommendation unfairly assume that scope of store and service quality in both stores would be similar as well. Perhaps the small scope and general service in Regal is better served for its target customers,which may not be in the same group as that in Monarch. For that matter, perhaps this kinds of service is not suitable for Monarch’s target customers who might require more individualized experience,whereas quite big operation scope of cafe with variety selection and personal service would be a better attraction for them.In short, without accounting for possible differences between Monarch and Regal the manager cannot convince me that his goal of recommendation is sound.

Also considering the case of cutting out the children’s book section for opening the cafe, the positive effect is evident to see while the negative impact cannot be overlooked. Even though Monarch may save the cost to expand the space for construction, the close of the children area may loss customers like someone with the whole family or some pupils after school. Moreover, the budget of opening the cafe may contain the possible costs of reconstruction,which would have a downward impact on the overall profit of Monarch before the cafe opens.

Finally,the fact in the national census the manager cites would not be so convincing to explain the unpopularity of the children’s book section. There is no sufficient evidence the children under age ten would be the representative of the overall target audience in the children ‘s book section. In addition, although the dramatically decline in the population of the children under age ten is prove, the total number of children may increase.Therefore, granted that the number of children who are under age ten has decreased, we can not ensure that the number of children who go to our bookstore, or the need for children’s book will also decline.

In conclusion, the recommendation need substantiation to support the conclusion.To do so, the manager must provide clearer evidence that similarity between Monarch and Regal in other aspect to prove the comparison. The manager must also demonstrate more information in the national census and then analyze both advantages and disadvantages logically to make further conclusion.