The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly im

In the preceding argument, the author claims that Acme company has to encourage its employees to take the easy read course that will help to increase the company profits and will boost the employees positions, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he claims that many other companies have stated their employees to take it. Secondly, he bolsters his position by stating that one graduate employee was able to read 500 pages within 2 hours and another one rose from assistant manager to vice president in under one year by taking this course. Thirdly, he states that the course will cost $500 and it is low price compering to the benefit that will get and long life subscription to the easy read newsletter. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author assumes what hold true and useful for the other companies will mandatory hold the same benefit to the Acme company. But this assumption weaken the argument because we do not have any information about the other companies general status, and what is the problem they have. Perhaps the Acme company complains from different gabs or perhaps their worker level is better than the other companies. Thus, the argument is without basis and he has to provide full details about the companies status and how they get benefit from the course.

Furthermore, even there is a concrete and positive relation between taking the course and get benefit from it, such what happened with the graduate employees. This does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous relation between the two events. Perhaps the employee who read 500 pages did not read it precisely and in fact is not plausible to read 500 pages within two ours in meticulous way and absorbs all the benefits. Plus, the employee who took the course and got higher position it might be that the author is right, but he does not provide complete information to corroborate his case. Perhaps he got higher position because he has an outstanding abilities or perhaps he has an entice to improve his position. Consequently, building a decision depends on weak causation is not plausible an he has to provide more valuable information to boost the argument.

Last but not least, the largest leap in the argument also lies in stating that the course will cost $500 for every employee with life long subscription. In deed, he fails again to mention that this cost is low. Perhaps the Acme company has a large team and by this way the company has to pay for all of them, how they will increase the productivity while the company will pay a lot of money. Further, what is the benefit from the life long subscription. Accordingly, the argument is lack a depth of details and he has to provide more information to boost the argument.

All in all, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal. Thus, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.