The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president of Grove College suggests that keeping all female strategy will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to fund school persistently. However, there are some questions need answering.

Firstly, the writer suggests that 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted to keep all female. Still, is the content of the survey valid? The content of the questionnaire could be biased. It asks keeping all female or recruiting the number of male students 4 times greater than that of female in Grove College. It is obviously scaring female students, because the change is so drastic that most students couldn't accept.

Furthermore, another question is, are students honest to answer the questions of a survey? It is possible that most students answering the survey would like to a good image to their teachers, so they lie and contradict to their will. Because the faculties want to keep all female for some reasons. Perhaps, the school is going to hire many teachers so as to meet the coeducation requirement, and the teachers worry they might loss their jobs because of the change.

Additionally, it claims that over half of the alumnae who answered another survey also opposed coeducation. Still, how many alumnae answer the survey? Probably, there are only 20 alumnae and half of them oppose the decision. And there are 2,000 students in Grove College. Therefore, it is barely to claim the survey would be enough representative. Even if it is enough representative, says 2000 of 4,000 alumnae opposing against the coeducation, while the others actually approve the new policy. In this case, it is hardly to claim the major opinion of alumnae would deny the coeducation. It is suggested to answer how many alumnae do they answer the questionnaire.

Moreover, the president proposes that keeping all female so as to improve morale among students and convince alumnae for financial reasons. Nevertheless, how much percentage of school income does come from alumnae? A probable explanation is that there is only 1 percent of the income from alumnae, thus, it contributes little to support the finance of the school. And because coeducation, the college could recruit male students and it brings additional 50 percent profit as much as the annual income of Grove College. Therefore, the coeducation could be more beneficial to the school instead of all female policy.

In conclusion, unless the president of the Grove College could answer the questions mentioned above, the readers could not believe in the argument.