GRE Argument:The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council."Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% i

The argument is based on the realization of increased tax collection and income to the city due to attractions like a golf course and resort hotel. The mayor also remarked increased applications of business loan which is the indicator of better business opportunities in the future. In sum, the mayor suggests opening another golf club and hotel for public improvement. The suggested idea seems beneficial if some clarifications are given to the same.

People are always attracted towards recent amusements and want innovation day to day. Improvement in visitors to the golf course and hotel shows that they are containing something innovative that people love to visit. Further, a rise in business loan applications to the local bank increased which shows that people want to explore the place and want to adopt the same for their business. But, reasons for loan applications are not mentioned here. It is possible if places other than these amusements are a reason to establish a business here.

The writer suggests opening the same amusements as built earlier. It is possible that the number of people will be decreased as there is nothing innovative. That will cause a decrease in earnings as well as make them lose visitors, too. SO, they should provide something different instead of golf course and hotel.

The interest of people is also a factor that affects earnings here. It is possible that the ratio of people who like golf is less and they like to explore another thing, too. In that case, they should provide an amusement which includes all type of entertainment.

In sum, though the solution seems agreeable, we should consider some aspects which the author has not demostrated.