An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author, in the argument, recommends that the government of the Tagus, an impoverished nation having vitamin A deficient peoples, should promote a new type of vitamin A contained millet anyhow. The author also presents various facts to bolster his argument. Superficially, the author's conclusion seems to be well-reasoned and sound. However, under the meticulous study, there are a plethora of questions the author needs to be answered to validate his conclusion. Otherwise, the recommendation made by my author may not result in predictions.

Firstly, how severely the Tagus is hit by vitamin A deficiency? How many people are found to be vitamin A deficient? The author should present the details about the demographics of vitamin A deficiency in the Tagus. If there are only a few people which are found to be vitamin A deficient, is it wise to spend the high budget on costly millet farming? Perhaps, there are only a few people which are vitamin A deficient. If so, the author's recommendation to adopt the millet farming is not economically warranted.

Secondly, is the environmental condition suitable for millet farming? The author mentions that the millet is the staple food in the Tagus but did not say anything about whether the people of Tagus grow millet in their farm or import from foreign countries. If the environmental condition is not suitable for millet farming in the Tagus, the author's recommendation of millet farming would be absurd. And the vitamin A deficiency of people of Tagus cannot be improved.

Finally, since the author is failed to answer the questions mentioned above, the author's recommendation might not result in the predicted results. To make his recommendations sounder, the author needs to do more research and answer those questions.