An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given argument states that the government of Tagus should do their utmost to advertise and promote a newly breed of millet, engineered by an international organization which is supposedly high in vitamin A and might be the answer to the vitamin A deficiency faced by the people of Tagus. But before moving forward with this recommendation, few important questions need to be answered to ascertain its benefits.

Firstly, more who is this international development organization? Where does it originate from? What are its credentials? Since the new millet crop will be widely consumed by the citizens of Tagus, deciphering the legitimacy of the institution engineering it is of pivotal importance. It maybe possible that this organization is just a money making company which for its own gains, is taking advantage of the impoverishment and plight of the people of Tagus.

Secondly, the recommendation is based on a primary assumption that the millet variant which is high in vitamin A will be sufficient to cater to the deficiency faced by the nation of Tagus. It might be possible that even though the company is portraying the new variety as one with high vitamin, it might just be a small increment on the existing vitamin quantities in the existing millet consumed. Hence a detailed nutritional study of the new variety that is being proposed is necessary before any further movements have to be made for its acceptance.

Furthermore, it is mentioned that new variety of millet bares a higher cost to the already impoverished farmer. As a respite, it is stated that the farmers will be paid subsidies. But, there is no detail regarding the percentage/amount of subsidy to be given. It is very likely that even after providing this subsidy, the final cost of production of the new millet variant is still too massive for the poor farmer to bear. Moreover there is no mention of the type of subsidy, whether it is going to be in cash equivalents or supplementary farming equipment or any other form. Hence, there are a lot of unanswered questions of the nature and quantum of the subsidy to be provided, which should be answered to estimate the result of the proposal.

Lastly, there is an assumption made that as millet is a staple in the diet of the people of Tagus, the new variant will be accepted without any hesitation. Since millet is consumed everyday, there might be few people who are accustomed to the existing crop and might not want to switch. This maybe due to various factors such as a difference in taste, texture, and cost. Hence, an important question needs to be answered that will the majority of the population in Tagus, readily and happily adopt and consume the new millet variant without any push back.

Therefore in conclusion, the above questions enlighten the gaping holes in the given recommendation and should be answered to ascertain its viability before any further advancements are to be made.