While it is true that the government of Targus should do something to address the problem of vitamin A deficiency among its citizen, the author's conclusion that the way to solve this issue through the promotion of a new breed of millet is founded on tenuous arguments.

The author states that although the new type of millet costs more than conventional type, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. There is an unstated assumption that the government of Targus will be providing this subsidy. However, it is unclear whether the government of Targus has the financial and economical capability of handing out subsidies, given that the author acknowledges the fact that Tagus is an 'impoverished nation'. The author will have to show evidence that the goverment of Targus can and will provide subsidies for the farmer, or that the subsidies will come from other sources, perhaps the international development organization who engineered the new breed of millet

The author assumes that farmers will definitely grow this new breed of millet if they will be paid subsidies. However, the effectiveness of this solution is unclear considering if the new breed of millet has less commercial value than the current breed of millet, perhaps owing to lesser demands by consumers. Farmers in Targus will most likely not want to grow this new breed of millet if it means that the subsidies will not be able to offset their lost in profits and higher operating cost due to the cost of the new type of millet. This itself raises another problem if the millet consumed locally are not actually sourced from Targus but are imported in from neighbouring countries. If this is the case, it is unclear how the cultivation of the new breed of millet will help vitamin A deficiency in the country.

Furthermore, the author states that vitamin A deficiency will be solved through the consumption of the new breed of millet since millet is already a staple food in Tagus. While it might seem like a reasonable assumption, if vitamin A deficiency is found chiefly amongst citizens of Targus who doesn't consume millet on a regular basis, this solution will clearly not address the problem. There are also other factors such as variation in taste and texture of the new millet which might affect the uptake of the consumption of the new breed of millet. All these possible reasonings will only serve to weaken the author's argument.

In summary, it is clear that the author's recommendation is based on tenuous claims and his or her arguments are rife with loopholes and unstated assumptions. The onus is on the author to back each arguments with solid evidences and reasonings, else the author will have a hard time convincing the government of Targus to invest 'everything they can' to promote this new type of millet.