Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Cow flu is indubitably a fatal illness that doctors and policy-makers must take seriously. Just as CVS and Minute Clinic provide free flu vacinations, administering routine cow flu vacination has enormous benefits. But as the writer states, there is a possibility that the person may die from inoculation. That being said, we need to consider a few things before stopping routine administration: how many people have died as a result of routine administration, whether there is a statistically significant trend as a result of such administration, and the costs associated with administration.

We first need to ask ourselves how many people have died as a result of cow flu. The writer seems to overlook how many people have died due to cow flu in lieu of the possibility that someone may die as a result of inoculation. Unless we know how many people have died as a result of inoculation, we cannot assume that because a person will die as a result, we should stop administering inoculations. If we stop inoculating and the number of people dying from cow flu increases, we will inevitably need to ask ourselves a normative question: Was it worth stopping routine administration? If the number of deaths is significantly greater because of cow flu, then we must continue routine administration regardless of that possibility.

In addition, it is helpful to know whether there is some statistically significant trend between death and inoculation. It is easy to state, "A person died after inoculation, therefore he or she must have died due to inoculation." This is a classic case of correlation is causation, but do we really know if the person died due to inoculation? A statistically significant trend will rule out whether the person may have died from some other cause after inoculation; otherwise, we are concluding that the person must have died because of inoculation.

Most importantly, we should consider the costs of routine administration. Perhaps the writer is most concerned about logistics, supplies, transportation, and the wages of nurses administering the vaccine. The writer may solely be most concerned about those costs, not about the people he or she is writing about. In other words, money may drive his or her argument. If we have an idea of the costs of administration, we would better understand his or her motives behind his or her stance; it is too easy to conclude that the writer has positive intentions behind stopping routine administations.

Before we can make any decisions, we need more evidence. It is easy to make decisions based on fear ("there is a small possibility"), concluding that correlation is causation ("a person will die as a result of the inoculations"), and money ("permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered"). Once we have more substantial, pertinent evidence, we can decide whether we should permit routine inoculation administrations.