A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

In the memo sent by the movie producer to the head of the movie studio, it was suggested that the funding assigned for the production of a movie "Working Title" must be increased by 10% to avoid the failure of this movie. The producer made this suggestion on the premises of the work experiences of the director -presumed profligate- and assistant directors and producers that are recently employed by the studio in the production of the concerned movie. However, the suggestion of the producer is filled with three unwarranted assumptions that must be explored before the argument can be considerably evaluated and persuasive for more funding.

First, the producer assumed that the newly employed director would be dilatory and spendthrift by making a generalizations of a plebian belief about the advertising business. In other words, the producer assumed that all directors that have worked in the advertising business must be time incautious and negligent of the financial implications. It is possible that the new director is the exception in such common trend. He or she might be someone that values time and strongly belief in the economical production of movies. What if the motivation behind the director leaving the advertising business was a result of his or her disdain towards the supposed financial negligent and wasteful timing? We do not just know. If either of these scenarios is true or the raised question remained unanswered, the producer suggestion is considerably about his or her whimsical beliefs about the new director and the suggestion of funds increment is unpersuasive.

Also, the producer assumed that the supposedly inexperienced assistant directors would be intractable. Profoundly, the producer thinks the assistant directors and producers are employed with unstrict policies by the human resources department. It is likely that movie studio received an enormous amount of applicants for such positions and only the distinctive few are selected for the position. This distinctive few might have gather substantial undocumented experiences from movie production during undergraduate studies, from associations, drama groups in churches and many more. Of course, such competitive and exceptional accepted applicant for the role of assistant producer or director will most likely be sagacious and easy to control in far less time than expected. If this scenario have little or considerable merits, then the producer assumption the waste of time and resources by the newly employed assistant directors and producers does not hold water and will not in any way lead to the failure of the film and consequently no substantial basis for funding.

In furtherance, the author assumed that the salary of the new assistant directors and producers are not commensurate to the financial implications of employing experienced ones. It is possible that the movie studio have just embraced advocacy for decent working environment and as such choose to pay the assistant directors better than the previously held beliefs. If this scenario is true, then the producer presumption that the movie studio have saved money is unfounded and thus an increment in the assigned funding will not be a possibility.

In conclusion, while they might be a need for increased funding for the movie production, the producer basis for such suggestion is not substantial and open to possible wrong assumptions that must be well evaluated before the increased fund suggestion can be convincing. Also, if the skills of the directors and assistant directors and producers mentioned above are exemplary as cited above, the movie is far from failure but rather might be the production of an unprecedent success story for the movie studio.