“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

In the memorandum, the business manager of a television station concludes that restoring the time scheduled to weather and local news to its previous level will attract more viewers to the program and it will prevent losing any further advertising revenues. Although the manager's assertion might prove valid, as it stands now, these unwarranted assumptions should be make clear for this.

The author assumes that there is a casual relationship between increasing the weather and local news time and the increase in viewers and impeding loss on advertising revenues. Perhaps there might be another television broadcasting station which attracts more viewers because of it's late night show could be more intertaining. Furthermore, the quality of the author's late night news program maybe reduced for which the viewers are losing their interest in the show and the advertisers also canceling their contracts. If either of these come true than the contention of the author would significantly hampered.

In addition to, the author is assuming that the last year's trend will continue and will affect the following years. Perhaps the last year was an anomaly due to which there might needed frequent update on weather news and that's why the viewers complaint about it. Also there might be some economical crisis that cause the advertisers to cancel the advertising contracts. So if the economical crisis is not solved then the advisers might not invest on advertising. Thus if any of this happens then the authors contention might became weaken.

As a result, it maybe stated that these assumptions have to give exact evidence.