"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

he business manager states that their late night news program has increased time to national news and less to weather and local news which is causing them to lose advertising revenues. Also, they are receiving complaints about weather and local news. But the manager fails to state the amount of revenues they are receiving now and what kinds of complaints are being received to support the argument about restoring time devoted to weather and local news.

The argument says that local businesses canceled their contracts with the television station. But the manager fails to show any evidence of correlation between the canceled contracts and the decreased time in weather and local news. Local businesses may have other reasons. For instance, there might be another television station which is offering them advertisement contracts for much cheaper price, which is causing the station to lose their clients. May be the current economic condition is not very favorable for the local businesses which made them to cancel the contracts.

The manager says that most of the complaints are concerning weather and local news. But he did not mention the nature of the complaints. May be the viewers are complaining about the quality of local news. The reason behind complaints concerning weather could be the inaccuracies in weather forecast, which is ruining their daily life.

The manager talks about attracting more viewers by restoring the time devoted to local news and weather to its former level. However, we need more data to reach to this conclusion. The manager assumes without any evidence that the viewership will increase with the measure he proposed. To decide this we have perform an extensive study which will verify the conclusion. Also, the argument says that we need to restore to previous conditions to avoid losing advertisement revenues, while there is no evidence that the station is actually losing revenues. May be nationally recognized companies are attracted to the prospect of advertising to that particular station because of the increased time to national news, which can attract a larger audience.

So to conclude, while the business manager assumes that it might be beneficial to restore to time devoted to weather and local news, he fails to provide any supporting information which weakens his argument.