"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The problem mentioned by the manager seems to pertain with the loss of viewership or the prominence of the television station among the local populace and the local businesses. But the recommendation made to appeal the locals appears rushed and the memo does not provide sufficient evidence to back their claim.

There could be various factors that could be denting their advertising revenues such as a) Exorbant pricing: If the television channel charges amounts that the local businesses cannot pay or find it useful to gain profits, they would choose to go for alternative modes of advertisement such as banners, poster, cinemas or even another station newly setup. Without providing the price of advertising which the station charges it would be hard to support the claim that the local businesses are cancelling the contracts just based on the decline in viewership or on the preferences of news presented by the station.

b) Rise of competing stations: With the advent of technology, it would be hard to imagine that one station can reign monopoly over the business for a long duration. It is possible that the content presented by a new channel might be appealing and the people could be tuning to it more often and these businessmen may find that advertising over the duration of the day might be more impactful compared to the late-night news program. This could mean that the station manager needs to evaluate content of the news program along with other programs that happen across the day.

Assuming that the late-night new program can be brought back to it's original glory and attract new vievership with the suggestion made, can the advertising still remain profitable. It could be the case that there are too many businessmen who are paying to advertise but are given insufficient screen time to advertise them. Having an unbalanced method and not providing proper care to the content might be irksome and can discourage customers. The manager's idea to restore the older timelines may restore the viewership of the local populace but an improper customer service may not help them retain their customer base.

In conclusion, the mangers memo does not cover the points require to support the claim made and seems to ignore various factors.