Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that the Madagascan shrimp is soon to become an endangered species due to the incursions by deep-sea fishermen. The conclusion reached by the argument rests on the fact that rate of bredding of the Madagascan shrimps is far lesser than the rate of death induced by the deep-sea fishermen. In order to truly evaluate the validity of the argument, the following evidences need to be provided.

Firstly, the argument needs to elaborate upon the reason for the significant reduction in shrimp population. The argument prematurely assumes that deep-sea fishermen are the sole cause for the reduction in population. It is possible that the shrimps major food source has died out due to pollution of the water body. In such a case many shrimp will die of starvation. Further its possible that there has been a recent oil spill near the Madagascar coast which released harmful toxins into the sea. The shrimps might have very well died from these toxins. If any of the above are true, then the argument's assumption that deep-sea fishermen are the reason for the death of shrimps is not valid.

Secondly, the argument needs to clarify on what basis it assumes that the trend (shrimp population reduction) will continue over the next few years. It might well be possible that due to the recent reduction in shrimp population widlife conservationists have successfully convinced the Madagascar goverment to release a bill which makes it illegal for deep-sea fisherman to venture into regions of water bodies where these shrimp reside. In such a scenario the number of fishermen entering and fishing for shrimp will significantly reduce, and thus leading to the overall increase in the shrimp population.

Further, the argument maintains that the rate of death of the Madagascan shrimp is way greater than the rate of breeding. The argument needs to clarify on what basis it makes such a statement. It might be the case that this variety of shrimp have a very high multiplying factor, with each individual having multiple partners to breed with. If the above is true, the rate of breeding will be exponential. In such a case the exponential breeding rate will far outrank the linear death rate of the shrimp (death rate of shrimp is directly proportional to number of incursions, making it linear), and thus lead to the increase in population of the shrimp regardless of the incursions by deep-sea fishermen.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is severely flawed due to its dependance on several unwarranted assumptions. The above mentioned evidences need to be provided to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.