A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion

In this argument, the author concludes that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be known and be lucrative at Bay City. This is based on some premises as stated in the prompt which if correct, will validate the conclusion. For this to be true, the author needs to answer three questions or provide evidence to support this claim and bolster the credibility of the recommendation.

First of all, is the study the author referencing in his submission representative of the people of Bay City? Is 30% as significant as the author is painting it? The author needs to provide evidence that the participants of the ‘recent’ study as indicated is representative of the population of Bay City. If the study covers the different classes of citizens, the recommendation could hold true. However, if the population responsible for the increase in sales are majorly the elites or middle class, which probably constitute a small amount of the community, this recommendation doesn’t hold water and as such should be re-examined.

Secondly, the author assumes that the absence of an operating restaurant with seafood specialty in Bay City is responsible for the increase sales and a ground for the new restaurant to thrive. Also, the writer cited a nationwide study where it is noted that most two income families eat less home-made meals and the majority of Bay City residents are two income families. What if the larger percentage of the residents of Bay City prefers to eat home cooked meal? Is the nationwide study applicable to the dwellers of Bay City? For this assumption to hold true, the writer needs to answer the questions stated above for his recommendation to hold true for the success of the new restaurant.

Finally, the author assumes that the new restaurant will be popular and profitable because the residents of Bay City are more concerned about healthy eating. What gives the author the assurance that the new restaurant will meet the standard of healthful eating by the people of Bay City? What gives the impression that the absence of any other seafood restaurant is not due to low patronage by the residents? What if the people that patronize specialty restaurants are visitors or individuals on vacation in Bay City? The author needs to provide strong answers to the questions above to substantiate the claim that the restaurant would be popular and profitable if established in Bay City.

In conclusion, the premises on which the writer makes the conclusion are feeble and need to be strengthened by providing relevant answers to the questions as enumerated above. With good responses, the conclusion could hold true however if the responses are found wanting, the conclusion will be non-plausible at best.