A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The study concludes that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. The study has based this conclusion on the facts observed, that kids in Himalayan Mountain region in Nepal despite little to no profession dental care, as opposed to kids to in suburban ares in the United States, have lower level of tooth decay. The proposed explanation is unfounded and doesn't hold a solid ground for three reasons that could possibly be true.

First of all, the conclusion from the facts presented in the arguments states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This brings us to question whether any facts in the arguments state that the kids in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal do not practice regular dental care. The arguments doesn't state that. So, it is possible that the kids in Nepal practice regular dental health care such as brushing twice daily and using floss every time after eating food to take care of their teeth unlike kids in suburban areas of United States. Thus it is possible that the kids in the United States, do not brush daily and visit the dentist frequently when they suffer from diseases such as cavity from lack of regular dental healthcare. This could be an explanation for why the kids in Nepal have lower level of tooth decay as compared to kids in United States.

Second probable explanation for why Nepali kids have lower levels of tooth decay could be the type and quantity of food and beverage consumed by them compared to kids in United States. It is possible that kids in United states have an increased consumption, when compared to Nepali kids, of sugar and carbonated drinks such as cold-drink and soda or to food items such as chocolates which result in higher level of tooth decay. It is possible that as kids in Himalayan mountain region live in such a remote area there is little or no availability of such food and beverage products which doesn't excessively harm their teeth in the first place. This explanation could explain why even with little to no availability of professional dental care, Nepali kids tend to have better teeth.

Thirdly, considering the immense difference in the living location of the two kids, there is possibility that the kids living in the Himalayan region of Nepal have access to more unadulterated and natural food as compared to kids living in the suburbs of the United States. It is possible Nepali kids have higher level of calcium in their diet due to various products for example pure milk available to them unlike adulterated milk with low calcium level available to kids in the United States. This explanation accounts for the facts presented in the arguments and explains possibly why the kids in United States are worse off in terms of tooth decay level as compared to kids in Nepal.

Thus, in conclusion, the proposed explanation presented in the argument cannot be fully trusted. It is possible that alternate explanations stand to reason as to why the kids in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay as compared to kids in the suburban areas of the United States. From the facts presented in the argument there are three more explanations that can possible and thus need to be reviewed in form of another another study to be be properly evaluated.