A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter, so as to reduce the incidence of heart diseases and also that may help in curing continuing heart problems and minimize their ongoing treatment is logically unsound because it fails to acknowledge certain crucial assumptions.

Initially, it posits, based on the findings of a study, that pet owners live healthier lives than their non pet owner counterparts but lacks information to bolster this claim. There is no explanation provided on the study results i.e. the place where the research was conducted, the environment of the place, the ethnicity or ages of people involved in the study. Hence, it cannot be verified that the results could be applicable elsewhere. May be the people were younger and the environment they lived in was healthier than that of Sherwood. In addition, folks who owned pets may be following other health regimes and exercises that assisted them in staying fit. The insufficiency of these particulars renders the claim spurious.

Secondly, since it cannot be proved that the findings of the research conducted can be applied elsewhere or will be beneficial, if applied to the town of Sherwood. Therefore, the author’s assertion of a partnership between Sherwood’s Hospital and Animal Center is apocryphal.

Finally, if Sherwood’s Hospital and Animal Center are to collaborate to initiate an Adopt-A-Dog program and publicizing it, there is no evidence that the general population will be encouraged to adopt dogs. The reason may be that most of the residents are allergic to it or might have scanty resources in order to pet a dog. Also, the people may be incorporating exercise and other healthy food options in their diet and they might not require petting a dog after all.

Thus, the argument that espousing a pet will make people lead healthier lives and that Sherwood should institute an Adopt-a-Dog program in order to decrease heart related problems in the town by owning a pet, fails to make a cogent case.