The argument posits that salicylates are salutary and can reduce headaches. An added advantage would be that they can be added as flavor additives for food. The study mentioned in the argument seems convincing at the first glance but a deeper scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of possible flaws which could test the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the argument states one of the possible therapeutic effects of salicylates and is considered tantamount to aspirin which is a medicine used to treat headaches. It is also mentioned that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates but food processing companies add salicylates to foods as preservatives. Is the amount which is naturally present in food not sufficient to act as a cure for headache? If the argument had mentioned what is the quantity of salicylate required in milligrams to be an effective cure-all for medicine, this evidence would strengthen the argument. Also, does lack of preservatives lead to headaches? If this is the case, any other preservative could be added instead of salicylate.

Secondly, the argument misses out on mentioning what is the healthy intake of salicylate in a human body. For instance, what can be the maximum amount of salicylate which can be consumed. Additionally, does the addition of salicylate have any negative side effects? What if the salicylate alleviates the headache but gives rise to different medical problems? Answering these questions will enable us to evaluate the recommendation effectively.

Thirdly, the study has been conducted on the residents of Mentia. The study has been done on a small sample size, which represents the generalization of the whole population. In addition to this, the study's reports findings state that there is a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and the steady decline in the average number of headaches. There are a myriad reasons which could explain the reason for the decline in the number of headaches over twenty years. There could have been a substantial lifestyle change adopted by the residents or they might have resorted to meditation as a treatment for headaches. To consolidate the findings of the study mentioned in the argument, the argument must mention that the correlation between decline in headaches and the increase in salicylates is not a mere coincidence and it is the only possible cause behind the effect.

Thus, the argument has a few flaws and providing a few more evidences like the ones mentioned above will give a clearer picture if salicylates are the reason behind the cure or the findings of the study are bogus.