A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Given the circumstances that commercial use of salicylates has aided in bringing down the number of reports of headache and the chemical’s familiarity with aspirin, a medicine used to treat headache, it may be tempting to conclude that its use by food-processing companies would aid in reducing the cases of headache furthermore. However, deep-down the conclusion seems to be based on self-proclaimed assumptions, that makes it easier for anyone cast doubt on conclusion itself.

The argument mentions that there was a “correlation between the rise in commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in number of headaches reported”, but in conclusion it suggests that further decline in headache reports will be driven by increased use of salicylates in food processing. We can easily point out that the study that is supposed to bolster the argument’s conclusion is only focused on commercial use of salicylate. Never does it mention that the commercial use is applied in food-processing industry. It might be the case that commercial use of salicylate as a tablet itself would have driven down the number of reports of headache. So, if the commercial use of salicylate was done in any other way, would it be reliable to draw the conclusion that it’s use in food-processing industry would decrease the number of headache? Obviously not. Moreover, the argument also mentions that most of the naturally occurring food contain salicylate, and if that was the case, there should have been reduction in number of headache naturally, without using it commercially. So, it might be the case that salicylate would not be effective while consuming it with any dietary supplements.

Similarly, the research that was carried out in Menita doesn’t mention the type of individuals that were involved in the study; whether those individuals were representative of that study area. If the population taken for the study was biased (only woman or people from only certain age group), the conclusion of the study would be unreliable. If individuals from only certain age groups were selected for the study, for instance, it might be the case that salicylate consumption would be coincidentally beneficial for that age group, and not effective to others. This would make the conclusion of the argument very unlikely in the future.

Finally, though from bird’s-eye view it is likely that inclusion of salicylate in food processing would bring down the number of headache reported, the assumption made in the argument should be supported by well-documented evidences, and then only draw the conclusion.