"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument demands that more new dormitories should be constructed to attract new students in more numbers to Bukingham College. Though a quick read makes us feel that the argument is strong, but a deeper thinking exposes some serious weaknesses.

Firstly, it is claimed that the enrollment of Buckingham College is growing and it is assumed that this trend will continue for next 50 years. But this assumption is baseless. Though it is true that enrollment of prospective students in a college somehow depends on housing availabilities, but to a greater extent, it depends on the current academic reputation and world ranking of that college. So if and only if Bukingham College can keep its reputation intact for the next 50 years, only then it’s demand will increase among students. More concrete evidence behind such forecasting of academic reputation is necessary since 50 years is indeed a long period and anything can happen within this time frame.

Secondly, even if we assume that Bukingham will continue to maintain its academic standard in coming years, it is very difficult to say that the rent of off-campus housing will continue to increase for the next 50 years in the town. There may be several reasons or natural calamities or whatsoever, that may reduce the demand of housing in the area resulting in the fall of rent price in future. Even if we consider that the rent of off-campus apartment will remain high in the town for years to come, we should keep in mind the tendency of students to share their apartments. So, whether the dormitory’s rent will remain less than the shared amount of rent per student in an off-campus apartment is definitely a big question and a matter of concern. Proper background evidence behind this has to be analyzed by the Bukingham administration.

Thirdly, Buckingham authorities should also closely consider the current demand of the on-campus old existing dormitories. It may be quite possible that, dormitories do not offer a sound and quiet academic environment for serious students and thereby students are not opting for dormitories and staying off-campus. If such is the ongoing trend, then it will definitely be highly imprudent to spend valuable funds in constructing new dormitories. It may be better then to utilize funds to improve the academic reputation and research environment of the college thereby more number of good students can be attracted.

So finally, we can assess that it may be a positive step to build more on-campus student housing, but more ground-level study in this regard is highly necessary before blindly approving this project.