A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

In the letter to the president of Seatown University, the faculty committee concludes that instituting a free-tuition policy for its professors would enhance morale among the faculty and also helps to lure in new professors. The committee have come to this conclusion by citing a study conducted at a nearby Oceania University which showed that faculty retention is directly proportional to free tuition to professors at the University. However, the committee's assertion as it currently stands, rests on three unwarranted assumptions which currently renders it invalid.

First, the committee presumes, with no justification, that the study was scientifically carried out with no error or bias. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, only 10 out of a 100 faculty members in Oceania University were interviewed. Maybe the study was conducted in such a way that the study team wanted the study to end up with this result. It is assummed that this study can serve as a representation of all faculty members in Oceania University. The study can not be trusted due to this limitations. It could be that faculty retention is high in Oceania University for reasons other than the free tuition at the University. Perhaps more professors are in Oceania because they want to be closer to their children or maybe thr professors are there because of the facilities that the school has. If any of the above is true, then the faculty's argument does not hold water.

Secondly, it is readily assumed that Oceania University and Seatown University are comparable. Can the circumstances in Oceania be used to make generalizations and predictions about Seatown? It is possible that the two universities are not similar at all. It could be that tuition fee of Oceania is much more higher than that of Seatown. Perhaps instituting a free-tution policy in Seatown would not make any difference because its fees are already very cheap and this policy may not even lure in new professors because of this. Even if both fees are extremely high, it could be that the professors in Seatown would prefer a different motivation instead of the free-tuition policy. Perhaps, implementing a grant policy would lure in more professors or even including non-educational activities to the school curricular might be a better motivation. If either of these scenerios above has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the faculty's letter is significantly weakened.

Finally, the committee claims that a free- tution policy will enhance morale among the faculty. Does the committee speak for all members of the faculty in Seatown University? Since there isn't enough evidence to prove this, it is unwarranted. What if the committee wants this policy to be in their favor? There could be a 100 faculty members in the faculty with just 6 people in the committee. Perhaps, every faculty member has a different reason that could enhance their morale other than implementing a free-tuition policy. Maybe the only Professors in the faculty with children are the members of the committee. It could be that other faculty members do not have children and hence would not be favored by this implementation. Therefore without convincing evidences, the committee's letter gave the impression of a wishful thinking rather than a substantive one.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the committee is able to provide evidence(perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the commitees argument to institute a free- tuition policy in Seatown University.