In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author advised the government to devote money in this year's budget to the recreational facilities along Mason River. To support his/ her statements, a survey has been quoted and shows that the water quality is the main reason that the citizens don't use Mason River for recreational acitivities. Because the state has announced that the improvement of Mason River's water quality will be implemented. Thus, the use of Mason River will surely increase. Quite convincing though the argument may seem at first glance. However, being rife with assumptions and holes, we need further information to evaluate the statement.

First of all, the statement naively assumes that the survey would be fully reliable. However, without further information about the source and details of the survey, we are reluctant to believe it. It could be the case that the survey is from a enterprise which sells facilities for water sports. Possibly they just misled the participants to choose water sports as their favor. Then, the argument would be unreliable at all. Moreover, even we grant that the survey is reliable. However, the assumption that the participants would really do water sports on a regular basis, especially in Mason River, is suspectable. If they just like to watch them on TV, then I would not believe after improvment of the facilities they will really conduct water sports in person. Or what if they would like to go to a beach near Mason city? So, the water quality may not be the reason that citizens do not use Mason River.

In addition, the writer claims that the complaints about the water quality have been existed for long. However, without accurate information about the total amount of the complaints, we cannot assume that the water quality is quite serious so that it prevents citizens from using Mason River. Maybe just one or two residents living near the Mason River have complained, then the problem will be insignificant. Forthermore, the author claims that the state has already announced the plan of cleaning and assumes that the improvement will be accomplished within this year and the outcome will be significant. It could be the case that it is just a campaign promise, then, we are reluctant to believe the water qulity will be really improved efficiently. Thus, it is not reasonable to ask for more budget this year.

Finally, the advice fails to consider other method to improve the usage of Mason River and simply assumes that more budget to the riverside recreational facilities is the only way. However, increasing budget may cause negative impact since we do not know about the economic status of Mason government. If the increased budget has to be got from other sectors like medical and educational fields, the ROI of this investment should be reconsidered.

Overall, so many vague information and unproved assumptions make us be reluctant to believe the argument. Further information will be needed to evaluate the sensibility of the advice.