In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s proposal that Mason city government should increase the budget to riverside recreational facilities is unsound. The prediction that the use of the river for water sports will certainly enhance if it is cleaned is not entirely logically cogent, because it is based on dubious inferences and questionable assumptions, which requires more information to prove they are valid and reliable.

It is stated that surveys proved that water sports are the favorite amusement activities of mason residents. However, we do not know the scope and the sample size of these surveys. Therefore, they could be unreliable and not express accurately resident’s recreational activities preference. Furthermore, these surveys could be done during the time of an aquatic sport event which could lead to an overestimated result about resident’s preference or they could offered just water sports as options to answer to questions.

According to the argument, Mason River is rarely used for these activities which can infer that residents perform them during vacations or outside the city. On the other hand, the author implies that river pollution and bad odor are the cause for its limited use. It is also stated that the city budget to this cause is very low but it is not stated how much is invested in these recreational facilities per year.

The writer of the argument asserts that resident’s complaint about water’s quality and smell are related to pollution, hence it is necessary to clean up the river. But this could not be true, since laboratory tests are required to confirm the water’s quality and the smell could be a result of a natural phenomenon due to algae. Therefore, river clean up would not have a significant impact on river’s facilities usage. Moreover, it is not stated how many residents complained about it which could be just a small sample of residents, thus, not representing the overall thoughts of population.

Although it is advantageous for everybody having a clean river with updated sport facilities around, the author’s argument does not justify increasing the budget.