In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguer claims that with the cleaning-up plan of Mason River, the use of the river for water sports will definitely increase, and the city government should give stronger financial support for the riverside recreational facilities. However, this argument is unwarranted due to the lack of several vital assumptions.

Firstly, one assumption we need is that the residents in Mason City has kept their interest in water sports until now. There is a great possibility that, with the further development of industrialization and the faster pace of life, the public has less time doing water sports, since these sports require more energy and time than other daily sports, such as jogging, tennis and so on. In this case, even if the government recreated the Mason River, the citizens are less likely to play water sports in the river. Moreover, if the amount of water after cleaning-up declines dramatically, due to the requirement of the water diversion, then there is less resource for people to have fun in the river.

Secondly, the arguer fails to assume that whether the condition of Mason River is suitable for doing water sports. If the river is deep and rough, with quantities of sharp rocks and aggressive species underwater, then it is unfit for a safety area for water sports. Even though the government will clean up the river, the risks in the river cannot be cleaned up. Knowing about the perilous circumstance, the residents would not be eager to spend their time in doing water sports in Mason River. In addition, it is likely that the river is located near the natural reservation, which contains a considerable number of wildlife, so that the safety of the riverside is truly ambiguous . That is to say, instead of playing water sports in the river, the public would prefer to going sightseeing by the riverside. Therefore, the use of the river for water sports will not be sure to increase.

Lastly, this argument did not provide an assumption that the riverside recreational facilities is welcomed by the public while doing water sports in the river. What if the facilities are charged for high fees, and inconvenient to use with low qualities? In this circumstance, people will be unwilling to use the facilities. Additionally, since the belongings of water sports mainly depends on the individuals’ preference, like swimming suits and glasses, the possibility of using public facilities is lower than field sports. Thus devoting more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities is not necessary.

To sum up, without ruling out these assumptions above, the argument cannot convince us because of the adverse logic flaws.