Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The publisher of Newsbeat magazine suggests that the magazine should shift from printing politic materials to economic ones. This conclusion is based on the premise that people prefer to read more about the business material rather than politics. The author’s argument is replete with equivocal conditions which require the author to answer several questions.

First, as mentioned, the lowest sale, over the past three years, was for the magazines which their front cover featured politic news. The author needs to ask that compare to which magazines the political magazines has the poorest-selling issues. It is possible that among other genres of the other magazines it has the poorest-selling issues. Then it might have the best sale in the genre of politics. Even if the purport of the author is that compare to the other issues of the Newsbeat magazines the politic magazine has the poorest sell, the author needs to ask that what profit does it gains. Despite its fewer sale, still it can be decently profitable that justifies the continuous production of this sort of magazine. Furthermore, the change in the magazine toward other topics entails costs that author needs to ask. Such a change can exact a high unjustified price on Newsbeat.

Secondly, the author needs to ask whether it was exclusively due to the genre of the news which people were not inclined to buy them. It is possible that the news are local and people prefer to know with is going around the world. It is possible also that many people dislike the news as some libels were written about a famous and lovable person so that many boycotted the magazine. The front cover might not absorb the people as the color or other attracting art rules might not be observed, and so on. Then ,with altering the magazine a little, there can be gained better profits instead of changing the whole content of the magazine.

Finally the author needs to ask whether the cited survey shows a constant and reliable trend of people toward reading business magazines. It is possible that the inclination of the people toward business is just a temporary trend. A financial crisis might happen in the country and it made the people want to know more about the business and with ending it the trend might decline. Furthermore, the author needs to ask how much the survey reflects the inclination of the potential customers of Newsbeat. Newsbeat magazines might be sold among the people who neither show interest in reading politics nor in business. Then the shift would not make any significant change.

In short, as discussed, the author failed to make a clear argument, since it is replete with equivocal conditions. To make it clear the author needs to answer the enumerated questions. With the Lack of the vital answers, the argument cannot be tenable.