Toggle navigation

Essay topics:

The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument which might seem plausible based on the fact that less sleep meaning more put inputted into work, is based solely on study carried out on 300 Mentian advertising executives only and generalized for all kind of business. These results suggesting that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night is flawed for the following reasons.

No two business organisation are the same, the argument failed to recognized the different perculiarities of different business organisation. For example organisation which require the physical strength of their workers will need these workers to rest well if they are to be effective in their delivery. The also those not provide a wide range of data, it only considered executives in it's survey, what about other strata of the job do they not contribute to the efficiency of the organisation?, Therefore the reliability of the method of survey employed is highly questionable.

The argument failed to recognized that there are other factors affecting the success of a business apart from the time input of it workers, such as market demand, location of business and several other factors. For example is the business is located in a thriving economy not just the sedulous nature of the the staffs that will determine the success of the business.

Thirdly, the experience level of a worker goes a long way in determining the efficiency of such worker, a staff with 15 years of experience will surely have more to contribute as compared to some nascent co-worker.

I strongly suggestion the conclusion drawn be reviewed, before it can be considered as a criteria for determining the success of a business.