Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Dr. Karp argues in his article that DR. Field findings about Tertian culture are invalid. Also, he claims that his approach using interview-centered method is more accurate than observation-oriented method which Dr. Field used twenty years ago. His conclusion is fallacious and erroneous because it is relies on assumption for which there are weak evidences.

The first mistake in Dr. Karp argument that comparing his findings with Dr. Field finding while the time and the place of the two studies are different. Dr, Field studied only island of Tertia, while Dr. Karp area of study was a group of islands including Tertia, which leads that the sample of children which Dr. Karp interviewed may contain a small percentage of Tertia, which make the two studies findings uncomparable. Also, Dr Field findings talked about the Village before twenty years, the residents way of raising their children might be changed through this period.

The second mistake in Dr. Karp conclusion, that he presumed children spend more time with their parent since they talked more about their parents. His conclusion might be stronger if he stated the questions he asked these children at the interview or the children ages; he might asked them to talked about their parents, or who they love the most, even if they were raised by the whole Village, kids tend to admire their parent.

Finally, the general conclusion which Dr. Karp assumed in his article, that interview-centered method is more accurate than observation-oriented method depending on one case is vague. research methodology can not be proven invalid depending on the result of one research.