We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument made by the Board of Directors of Monarch Books, that by opening a cafe within bookstore, more customers will be attracted and Monarch Books can better compete with Regal Books who have opened a cafe recently, may seem to be logical at the first glance.The argument may be correct if the premises on which it is based were to be true. However, in presenting the recommendation, the author has made some assumptions for which he has not provided any supporting evidence.

The author has stated that opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. Here the author has assumed that their has been an increase in the number of customers in the Regal Books after opening of cafe. The author has not provided any evidence to explicitly suggest that more customers have been attracted to the Regal Books since the opening of the cafe or the existing customers of the Regal Books are sigficantly pleased with the opening of the cafe. If he were to conduct or quote some already conducted survey which showed the clients' positive opinion on the opening of a cafe, this would have strengthened his point significantly. However the author has not linked the opening of cafe with the positive opinion of any client that a cafe should be opened in the book store.

Summing up,the author's argument that by opening a cafe within bookstore, more customers will be attracted and Monarch Books can better compete with Regal Books who have opened a cafe recently, may be correct. However, in making his recommendation the author has made many assumptions. In the absence of any supporting evidences to the assumptions pointed out, the recomendation is not likely to have the predicted results.