When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author assumes that because the recording of parking lots indicate a decreasing popularity of the Stanley Park, the Stanley Park have to add a lot of benches like the Carlton Park in order to increase the popularity. However, since the author relies on fallacious assumption, the recommendation is unreasonable.

To begin with, the author relies on the recordings of parking lots to assume that the popularity of Stanley Park is decreasing. However, the recordings does not reveal the number of people in the Stanley Park; people cannot know how many people in the car. Specifically, there are more than three people in one car or people who like walking. Then, the total number of people in the park might exceed the 150. As a result, the 50 cars cannot represent the real number of people who go to park.

Another dubious assumption that the author relied on is that the arguer fails to establish the casual relationship between the benches and popularity of the Carlton Park. It’s highly possible that other factors contributed popularity of the Carlton Park. For instance, the popularity of the Carlton Park might have resulted from the high quality of devices, which makes people wanting to go to Carlton Park. It is also likely that the Carlton Park was in the popular location, and many people going shopping in the near shopping mall will go here to rest. Lacking evidence that links the benches and popularity of the Carlton Park, it is presumptuous to assume that the benches was responsible for the popularity of the Carlton Park.

Even if the benches caused the popularity of the Carlton Park, it is imprudent to presume that the benches will also make the Stanley Park popular. The editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that no factors other than benches will cause the increasing popularity of the Stanley Park. However, a myriad of other factors, including people’s hobby or other choice, might be the cause of decreasing popularity of the Stanley park. To be specific, the people’s hobby in the region of the Stanley park is so different from in the region of the Carlton Park that adding benches could not have any effect in the Stanley park; Or other choice instead in the park, such as the university opening externally, impedes the popularity of the Stanley park from increasing. Without ruing out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by adding benches in the Stanley Park can increasing the popularity of the Stanley Park.

To sum up, the author’s recommendation that relies on many fallacious assumption is unwarranted. If author can offer the number of people in the Stanley Park, some possible factors contributed popularity of the Carlton Park, and other, and another possible factors that can preclude the possible causes, the assumption will be more reasonable.